"Fan" behavior

sixcat

A select few "fans" from the Galax stands were taunting a member of the George Wythe football team for a brief period last night.  The visitors stands are very close to the field and the kids were responding on the field to what they were hearing from the stands, so I know it was heard.  I let my voice be heard to the select few and the verbal abuse stopped, for the most part.  The kids on the field are just that, kids.  They are susceptible to emotional outbursts as they mature and learn from the adults in their lives on how to behave as responsible members of society and learn to deal with disappointment.  I earnestly hope this behavior was an isolated incident from the Galax side.  It is NOT representative of the majority of the Galax faithful!

Is this normal, acceptable behavior?  It may be normal but, to me, it will never be acceptable!  This kid was verbally assaulted!

As long as it isn't profane, I don't have a problem with it. I graduated over twenty years ago and though I didn't play football, I did play basketball, and trust me, some fans are vicious and even resorted to racist epithets against some of our players.

depends on if it was personal or general.  "Go back home to your mama" is fine, but "hey, #x, you're mama ........" isn't.

It went well beyond "go home to your mama"!  It was personal, explicitly profane, and at times, racially charged.  I hear the "na na na na, goodbye", "go home to your mama", "does your sister play", etc. a lot.  I have never participated and teach my children to be respectful but this went way over the line of human decency.